Friday Night at the Met

One of the best parts about living in New York City is being able to be in Manhattan in the blink of an eye. While I certainly don’t see myself living in the city after graduation, I do love all of the cultural opportunities it offers for those nights when you just don’t know what to do! This past Friday, my friends and I went to the Metropolitan Museum of Art to see a few exhibits and spend an evening off campus. Because the Met is so big, we only got to a couple of the galleries before it was closing time! It’s impossible to do the whole place in a day so I’m glad we have access to it for whenever we want.

img_5960

My favorite section of the museum is probably the American Wing. The huge sprawling landscapes of our country never cease to amaze me with all their bright colors and depictions of natural light. I’m partial towards oil paintings because they have so much texture and depth to them. These three seascapes, Maine Coast, Cannon Rock, and Moonlight, Wood Island Light, by Winslow Homer are some of the most beautiful I’ve ever seen. As someone who loves the water and the oceans, It’s safe to say that these are my favorites.

img_5936

Also in the American Wing is the famous Washington Crossing the Delaware by Emanuel Leutze. When you’re so used to seeing it as the cover of your history textbook, it’s quite the surprise and delight when you take in in person just how utterly massive it is! Friends and me for size reference. 

img_5961

Downstairs in the American Wing are the collections of gorgeous homewares like grandfather clocks, dining room tables, fine china collections and plates. I couldn’t resist taking a photo of this blue and white earthenware collection by Joseph Stubbs.

img_5931

Next we took a trip to the Costumes Institute Collection amassed by the one and only Ana Wintour. These gowns were gorgeous and so innovative! While certainly not the most practical, I think these fashions are right fun to look at!

House of Balenciaga Green Dress

img_5914

Alaïa Gown and La Sirène Gown

img_5916

House of Chanel Dressimg_5919

French Dress (Eliza Hamilton, anyone?)img_5917

The whole night was tons of fun and ended with some lovely mac and cheese at Panera, so what could be better? I hope everyone’s weekends were great and I hope your team won last night!img_5935

Leave a comment