Building Your Core-drobe

It’s been a few busy weeks because of midterm exams and papers, but I’m back!

 

Core-drobe

 

This past summer I felt overwhelmed at the amount of crap (for lack of a better word) I had to shove into my car to bring home from college. We’re talking too-small pants, a sheep Halloween costume, multiple empty Fordham drawstring bags, and everything in between. Just the amount of clothing was ridiculous. I decided to do a purge of my closet and focus on saving only the things that I loved and could be versatile for a core wardrobe, a core-drobe, if you will. I ended up donating about two-thirds of my closet and sold some as well. Score! I plan on doing this again this coming winter since I’ve only recently realized that I’m a middle-school-marching-band-type t-shirt hoarder and need to get rid of those pronto.

The core-drobe that I’ve formulated includes basic pieces as well as some fun ones since I love wearing color.

Here’s some of my suggestions for a pretty complete core-drobe!

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-8-34-14-pm

White Button-up: J.Crew Factory | Target | Land’s End

Chambray Button-up: J.Crew Factory | Old Navy | Land’s End

Striped Tee: Old Navy | J.Crew Factory

Cable Knit Sweater: Land’s End | Land’s End | L.L. Bean

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-8-39-15-pm

Bright Ankle Pants: J.Crew Factory | J.Crew Factory | NY & Company

White Jeans: J.Crew Factory | American Eagle

Solid Pencil Skirt: J.Crew Factory

Dark Washed Jeans: J.Crew Factory | American Eagle

Plaid Skirt: J.Crew Factory | Old Navy

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-8-45-07-pm

Shirtdress: Nordstrom | Tuckernuck

Navy Dress: Tuckernuck | Nordstrom | Nordstrom

Bright Dress: Lilly Pulitzer | Modcloth

Bright Trench Coat: Nordstrom | Modcloth

Navy Blazer: J.Crew Factory | Old Navy

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-9-18-18-pm

 

Comfy Shoes: Sperry Top Sider

Bright Pumps: Nordstrom | J.Crew Factory

Nude Pumps: Nordstrom | J.Crew Factory

Ballet Flats: J.Crew Factory

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-9-34-02-pm

Plaid Scarf: J.Crew Factory | ASOS

Pearl Earrings and Necklace: Nordstrom | Kate Spade

Crossbody Bag: Kate Spade | ASOS | J.Crew Factory

Classic Sunglasses: J.Crew Factory

Opaque Black Tights: J.Crew Factory | ASOS

There you have it! Use this post as a guide, not necessarily a checklist if you’d like to build your own core-drobe!

What would you include in yours?

 

Leave a comment