The World of “Supposed to”s

I hate the words “supposed to”. Why is it people feel like there are roles that they’re SUPPOSED to fill in life? Oh, you’re SUPPOSED to do that. You’re SUPPOSED to say these words. You’re SUPPOSED to like these certain things. When did living your life suddenly conform into a puzzle of “SUPPOSED to’s”?

When you come to college, it feels like all there is is buildings constructed of brick expectations, filled with insecure mass-produced people. Left and right, people are changing who they were days ago because, suddenly, they’re in college. Their equilibriums go out of whack because, oh, in college you’re SUPPOSED to be exactly who you weren’t yesterday. Every weekend I hear someone saying that they’re going out or they’re getting drunk because that’s what you’re SUPPOSED to do in college. What about doing whatever the heck you want simply because you WANT to? Not because you’re SUPPOSED to. Is it really worth completely changing yourself just because society and movies are saying that, yes, this is exactly how you should be living as a college student and if you aren’t, there must be something wrong with you? Do things because you WANT to, not because you think they’re what you’re SUPPOSED to be doing.

Things I’ve been told I’m SUPPOSED to do because of my age, but don’t really want to listen to:

  • I’m SUPPOSED to drink and get drunk whenever possible
  • I’m SUPPOSED to want to break the rules
  • I’m SUPPOSED to want to travel all over the world while I’m young
  • I’m SUPPOSED to want to wait to get married because wanting to get married young just isn’t right nowadays
  • I’m SUPPOSED to spend my money on things like concerts and festivals
  • I’m SUPPOSED to want to live in an apartment and work in the city instead of somewhere in the suburbs

Do what you’re going to do, but not because you think it’s what you’re SUPPOSED to do. Do it because it’s what you want to do, because you have to get it out of your system once or twice, because it’s something you’ll genuinely enjoy years down the road. Not because it’s what you’ve seen millions do before you. And don’t ever let anyone make you feel bad for doing what you WANT because it’s what makes you you.

Leave a comment